Softball Canada Announces 2024 Women’s National Team


Jun. 18, 2024

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
June 18th, 2024

 

Ottawa, Ont. - Softball Canada and the Women’s National Team coaching staff are pleased to announce the roster for the 2024 Canadian Women’s National Team. This elite group of twenty-one athletes is set to compete in the P5 Colorado event, hosted by Triple Crown Sports and College Sports Evaluation from June 26-28 in Fort Collins, Col. Following this, they will showcase their skills at the Canada Cup from July 1-7, in Surrey B.C.

The roster boasts a blend of seasoned and emerging talent, including six members from Canada’s 2020 Olympic softball team and thirteen athletes from the 2023 WBSC World Cup Group Stage, where their efforts secured Canada’s spot in the World Cup Finals.

The team also includes sixteen athletes who competed in last year's Canada Cup, while five new faces will make their debut for the Canadian Women’s National Team.

The coaching staff made their selections after holding two regional identification camps and one final selection camp.

The athletes who will represent Canada at the 2024 P5 Tournament and Canada Cup are:

FIRST NAME

LAST NAME

HOMETOWN

Dawn 

Bodrug

Georgetown, Ont. 

Kristen 

Boyd 

Carbon, Atla. 

Larissa 

Franklin

Maple Ridge, B.C. 

Sara

Groenewegen 

Surrey, B.C.

Kelsey

Harshman

Delta, B.C.

Zoe

Hicks

Boissevain, Man.  

Kianna

Jones

Surrey, B.C.

Katie

Korstrom 

Abbotsford, B.C. 

Janet

Leung

Mississauga, Ont.

* Natasha

*Limbani 

Mississauga, Ont.

Brook

Melnychuk 

Saskatoon, Sask.

Grace

Messmer

Surrey, B.C.

Madelyn

McKinnon 

Surrey, B.C.

Callum

Pilgrim 

Abbotsford, B.C. 

Erika

Polidori 

Brantford, Ont. 

Morgan

Rackel 

Calgary, Atla.

Nicole

Rivait 

Oakville, Ont. 

Nicola

Simpson

Seattle, Wash.

Jana

Want

Stoney Creek, Ont. 

Natalie

Wideman

Mississauga, Ont.

CC

Wong

Port Coquitlam, B.C. 

BOLD = Members of the 2023 Canada Cup Roster 

* Denotes Alternate 

 

Coaching Staff 

POSITION

NAME

HOMETOWN

Head Coach

Kaleigh Rafter

Guelph, Ont.  

Assistant Coach

Chris Jones

Oshawa, Ont. 

Assistant Coach

Joey Lye

Toronto, Ont.  

Assistance Coach

Christian Conrad 

Forth Worth, TX.

Athletic Trainer

Natalie Ghobrial 

Toronto, Ont.

Athletic Trainer

Nikki Antonopoulos 

Toronto, Ont.

Manager

Angela Ballantyne 

Ottawa, Ont. 

 

P5 Colorado Event Schedule 

DATE

OPPONENT

TIME

June 26

Canada vs. TC Colorado 

6:00pm MDT (8:00pm EDT) 

June 27

Canada vs. Louisville Lady Sluggers 

6:00pm MDT (8:00pm EDT) 

June 28

Canada vs. Epic National 18u 

4:00pm MDT (6:00pm EDT) 

June 28

Canada vs. TC Colorado  

6:00pm MDT (8:00pm EDT) 

 

2024 Canada Cup Schedule 

DATE

OPPONENT

TIME

June 29

Canada vs. Czechia 

6:30pm PDT (9:30pm EDT)  

July 1

Canada vs. New Zealand 

1:00pm PDT (4:00pm EDT) 

July1

Canada vs. Mexico 

6:00pm PDT (9:00pm EDT) 

July 2

Canada vs. Philippines 

6:00pm PDT (9:00pm EDT) 

July 3

Canada vs. Israel 

6:30pm PDT (9:30pm EDT) 

July 4

Canada vs. Hong Kong, China 

6:00pm PDT (9:00pm EDT) 

July 5-6

Playoff and Championship Games 

 

 

For more information, please contact:

 

Cassidy Burton
Manager - Marketing & Communications
Softball Canada
m: 613-523-5761
w: www.softball.ca | e: cburton@softball.ca

 

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information